Exploring the Urban Landscape

urban-exploration-in-montreal

Many of you may already know my (and Jon’s) love of abandoned buildings and interest in urban exploration (also known as poking around abandoned buildings and sites). Our actual experience in urban exploration is extremely limited, as in we’ve never actually explored an abandoned building, but I have come close. In that case, I was unprepared and with someone who couldn’t climb up into the building entrance due to a knee injury. It didn’t seem smart to me to enter an abandoned building without doing any preparation beforehand, without any knowledge of the building, its owners or lack thereof, and its possible occupants. In addition, I wasn’t ready to jump into exploring my first abandoned building by myself, even if there was a friend waiting for me in the car.

All that background information aside, Jon found this amazing site that he directed me to, Urban Exploration Montreal or UEM for short, which chronicles the adventures of a group of urban explorers as they investigate various abandoned sites around the city. I used to follow the website Forgotten Ohio, since around 2002 (I think), so I was incredibly excited to hear that there was a similar website for Montreal. Maybe this time I’ll get the nerve up (and convince Jon) to get a plan together and go exploring!

He also found this event, an art exhibit centered around the art that has developed at an abandoned site known as Turcot Yards. This site was also covered by UEM here, and UEM is actually where I got the photos posted in this entry (distressed by me, though–yay for Photoshop!).

turcot-yards

The event is tomorrow, and Jonathan and I will be there! Check out the details below, or go to the site here. All the following information is copied and pasted from that website.

5 / 12 – Exposition High Roads / Gran’routes

Artworks by ARPi and Henry Buszard examine the Turcot yards, North America’s largest vacant urban space, and the demise of the elevated highway system.

Une exploration visuelle, à travers des oeuvres de ARPi et Henry Buszard, de la cessastion du système de toute élevée et de l’espace en dessous de l’échageur Turcot, la plus grande espace inocupée en Amérique du Nord.

WHEN: Opening party Friday December 5th at 19h30. Exhibit Dec 5 – 31.
WHERE: Espace Les Neuf Soeurs 1900 Wellington in Pointe-Saint Charles;
COST: free/gratuit

Leave a comment

Filed under Adventures, Local News, Sites

Leave a Reply

